Entering 2017 with less.

Minimalism. Something i’ve always had an interest in, but never really attempted because I never thought I’d be able to commit to it. However I think im actually going to try this year.

As it is Christmas time, or just gone, I have realised this year that im okay with not getting much. This is new to me because even though it’s embarrassing to admit, I would always get annoyed or angry when I didn’t get what I wanted or, a lot of things for Christmas. I turn twenty years old in May and in my second year of university I have really come to terms with adulthood and especially the financial side. Transitioning from a teenager to an adult is probably one of the hardest points of your life, especially financially. However even though iv obviously picked up on this throughout my first couple “adult” years, I have chosen to ignore it in a way and continue to..

“spend money I don’t have on things I dont need.”

I recently watched a documentary on Netflix called Minimalism: A documentary about the important things. I really recommend it to everyone! It really re-woke my inspiration to give it a try. Now I cannot see myself all of a sudden throwing everything away and wearing the same outfit everyday, but I can see myself slowly clearing out the things in my life that are no use to me. I think I will make videos documenting my progress and upload them to Youtube. I will probably start this in February as I will be spending all of my January hours on Uni work, unfortunately.

I am really excited to start this journey and share my experiences. Please stick around if you would like to read more about minimalism.

-Alisha x

Leave a Reply

